top of page

Critique Week 3-2


Critique: Edutopia- Fostering Creativity and Community with a Platform Video Game

In this week’s critique I will be using three assessment/evaluation traits from Jason Ohler’s assessment traits. The three traits I have chosen for this digital story are as listed:

  • Story

  • Content Understanding

  • Originality, voice, creativity

Story: 10/10

I enjoyed the message of this story as it promotes fostering creativity and the idea that you do not need to know everything to create something. With so many tools out there, I think people ignore their creative sides in fear of failing. I enjoyed how they stated you do not need to be a programmer to make a game and the only way for us to progress is by being critiqued by others.

Content Understanding: 10/10

What I found interesting is their understanding of how games work and really bringing in perspective for others. From a creative side, they stated that computers cannot judge art or creativity only other humans can. This really gives the audience a sense that creativity comes from the mind and not from skill.

Originality, voice, creativity: 10/10

I think the video was very original and provides a good sense in how you can promote creativity. I really enjoyed the statement, “Personal expression is one of those things that will never go”.

What these traits fail to capture about this story and what other characteristics are noteworthy?

Though I enjoyed the video, I do think what is failed to be captured is the sense that this video feels almost like an advertisement. There isn’t many suggestions on how to promote creative outside of their game and it seems like they are just promoting how good their game is. I would have enjoyed more examples of how in overall games promote creativity.

How could this digital story be improved?

This digital story could be improved by providing more examples on how games can promote creativity and how individuals could get involved. Though I enjoyed the message that anyone can create, I think people need some kind of starting point and especially if they do not have any technical skills.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page