top of page

Critique 4

Critique: Daniel Floyd- Video Games and Storytelling

In this week’s critique I will be using three assessment/evaluation traits from Jason Ohler’s assessment traits. The three traits I have chosen for this digital story are as listed:

  • Story

  • Content Understanding

  • Originality, voice, creativity

Story: 8/10

I enjoyed the message of this story as it promotes the possibilities of storytelling in games. However, what I disliked was the lack of examples in how games can be used in storytelling. It felt like the message was more about why it is important rather than how. I believe by giving examples better helps connect the audience to the topic.

Content Understanding: 9/10

Daniel Floyd, seems to have a very good grasp in content understanding and presents a valid argument in why games and game developers do not prioritize storytelling in their games. He presents reasoning why story telling is not focused in game development as it may be a lack in profit and presents some examples. However, I would have liked to seen more examples and research to back up his argument.

Originality, voice, creativity 9/10

Much like the rest of the Extra Credit and Daniel Floyd videos, I enjoy their work. I think their work is creative and their use of animation is simple and engaging. However, I remember reading one of my critiques before and a classmate pointed out that the high pitch voice can be kind of annoying. Looking back at it now I can agree.

What these traits fail to capture about this story and what other characteristics are noteworthy?

What is failed to be captured in this story is the connection between how storytelling in games can benefit the player. I understand some games with good stories can be appealing but if games are already fun without a story then why try to change that? I think the digital story should have put in more effort in promoting a connection for players to realize that storytelling is important.

How could this digital story be improved?

The digital story could be improved by adding more examples in how story telling is important. I also believe creating an educational connection could have also been appealing. They mentioned God of War and how it was an example of a good game with a good story. I believe if they went into more depth on how this game was good could have created a better connection for their audience.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page