top of page

Critique 5


Critique: Machinima- PS4 VS Xbox One: Final Verdict 2013- Inside Gaming Daily

In this week’s critique I will be using Lankshear and Knobels everyday remix practices. The three literacy dimensions I have chosen are as listed:

  • Machinima Videos: Expressing enjoyment of a game, etc

  • Machinima Videos: For commercial entertainment purposes

  • Machinima Videos: For commercial marketing purposes

Machinima Videos: Expressing enjoyment of a game, etc- 10/10

This video was created as a review for the PS4 and Xbox when they were both released because of the huge controversy between consumers deciding which console was going to be better. After a month of testing, Inside Gaming Daily gave their verdict! Their use of video, transitions, and effects were perfect, I found it enjoyable and very well made. You could also tell they loved what they were doing and wanted to share their work with everyone. I also liked how they spoke with humor to relate to gamers, but I do think their language could be a bit mature.

Machinima Videos: For commercial entertainment purposes- 10/10

Inside Game Daily relates to their audience as gamers and provides gamers with reviews they believe gamers are looking for. In my opinion their goofy and immature humor are relatable to many gamers and they also demonstrate an understanding of machinima culture. They understand that being funny while providing serious reviews is what their viewers are looking for.

Machinima Videos: For commercial marketing purposes- 10/10

What I think is interesting here is that though they are reviewing two products they are also marketing themselves and both consoles. They give points to both consoles as to why you should either one of them and in the process are also marketing themselves as experts. They provide the audience with a sense of trust to go to them for their reviews.

What these traits fail to capture about this story and what other characteristics are noteworthy?

Personally, I am not too sure if anything was really failed to be captured in this story because this video was just a review based on opinions. However, I do think discussing future games for each console would have been nice. Personally, I am going for the PS4 because of certain games and the possibilities of other games I am looking forward to.

How could this digital story be improved?

The digital story could be improved by censoring some of their language. I understand they are trying to be funny and relatable to their audience. However, I feel that the language may also push some viewers away. Personally, I think they were funny but I wouldn’t watch their video with a lot of people around me.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page