top of page

Critique 6

Critique: Machinima- The Druid: Tree of Life - (A WoW Machinima by Nixxiom)

In this week’s critique I will be using Lankshear and Knobels everyday remix practices. The three literacy dimensions I have chosen are as listed:

  • Machinima Videos: Expressing enjoyment of a game, etc

  • Machinima Videos: For commercial entertainment purposes

  • Machinima Videos: For commercial marketing purposes

Machinima Videos: Narrative development skills-9/10

For this week I wanted to critique a video with a lot of view counts on YouTube. As some of you may know, YouTubers are able to get thousands of views and subscribers and I wanted to critique their video to understand how and why some of them get as popular as they do. This video is a good example of how you can tell a story with no words. Using the resources and characters in this video, the author was able to tell a story without any commentary. The music and animation was enough to get the point across.

Machinima Videos: Video Editing Skills-10/10

Personally, I thought the video editing skills were very good. The transitions were well done, the quality of the video was clear, and I think the music really brought everything together. Overall, I enjoyed how the video was compiled!

Machinima Videos: Player character manipulation skills-10/10

I have played World of Warcraft before, but never knew you could do any of this. How the creator manipulated the characters was great. Also, I am not sure if they did use Photoshop but the pictures that were used in the video seemed very believable. The character interaction showed a very deep relation between the two characters.

What these traits fail to capture about this story and what other characteristics are noteworthy?

Personally, I do not think anything was failed to be captured in the story as it was a fan made video where the story was interpreted by the creator. However, I think adding some background information with a voice commentary would have been nice. Understanding the point of the video was meant to tell a story with no words, I believe voice can be a very powerful thing.

How could this digital story be improved?

Overall, the video was very good and understanding that the video was meant to have no words I still think it might have been more powerful if there were. Personally, I think voice can make or break a machinima but if done right can really make things a lot better. What I appreciate from the video is that you can tell the creator put a lot of work and thought into the creation. By adding their own story, manipulating the characters, and video editing skills the video really turned out great. These are good traits to go off of to understand how some YouTubers become so popular.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page